The Mountain Goats – Beat the Champ

Beat the Champ is the 15th studio album by the Mountain Goats, released on April 7th, 2015, by Merge Records. The album’s focus is on professional wrestling, though band member John Darnielle has stated that several of its songs are “really more about death and difficult-to-navigate interior spaces than wrestling.”

The album was announced by Merge on January 20th, 2015, after which the second track, “The Legend of Chavo Guerrero,” was released for streaming on the label’s SoundCloud page. Shortly afterwards it became available for pre-order, where the large number of orders caused the site to crash.

The second single, and sixth track of the album, titled “Heel Turn 2” was released on Merge Records’ SoundCloud page on February 28, 2015. The following day, it officially premiered on an episode of the podcast Welcome to Night Vale.


01 Southwestern Territory
02 The Legend of Chavo Guerrero
03 Foreign Object
04 Animal Mask
05 Choked Out
06 Heel Turn 2
07 Fire Editorial
08 Stabbed to Death Outside San Juan
09 Werewolf Gimmick
10 Luna
11 Unmasked!
12 The Ballad of Bull Ramos
13 Hair Match
Digital Booklet – Beat the Champ


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *